PDA

View Full Version : multiple PC



Menautor
May 8th, 2012, 07:13 PM
Hello,

I use my desktop, and on occasion my laptop, I noticed that my laptop did not have the same wins has my pc does. The info seems to be kept locally on my drive. Is there a way to share the award bank with both machines especially since I'm using the same login account? thx for your thoughts on the subject

Glip
May 8th, 2012, 07:25 PM
As far as I'm aware, the only way to keep your data across multiple machines is to copy the bank file from one to the other. You'd have to repeat this every time you switched computers. Now, if you can figure out some way to have this automatically happen, let me know, and I'll donate another $5 in your name! :D

Admiral
May 8th, 2012, 09:45 PM
Try this and see if it works... I can't try it because my graphics card died on my desktop.

1. Share your SC2 folder on both computers
2. Open notepad
3. Type the following (but replace the path with your actual paths)

ROBOCOPY C:\ProgramFiles\Blizzard\SharedSC2Folder\MafiaBank Folder \\DESKTOP\SharedSC2Folder\MafiaBankFolder
pause

4. Save as CopyToPC.BAT
5. Run
6. Report an error if you get one because I can't test if that will actually work as is.
7. If there are no errors you didn't even do what I told you to.
8. If you really did and it worked do the following

ROBOCOPY C:\ProgramFiles\Blizzard\SharedSC2Folder\MafiaBank Folder \\LAPTOP\SharedSC2Folder\MafiaBankFolder
pause

9. Save as CopyToLaptop.BAT
10. Run
11. Report an error if you get one because I can't test if that will actually work as is.
12. If there are no errors you didn't even do what I told you to.

Duzero
May 9th, 2012, 01:25 AM
Could work, but I would use dropbox instead since windows sharing is so messy imo :cheesy:

This is a bat file that first:


Copies the bank file from the dropbox folder and replaces the local bank file if it's newer
Starts sc2
pauses the bat(leave the window open and press enter when you are done playing sc2)
copies the local bankfile to the dropbox folder



xcopy /d /y DROPBOXPATH LOCALPATH
"PATH TO Starcraft II.exe"
pause
xcopy /d /y LOCALPATH DROPBOXPATH

When you close sc2 just press enter in the window and it will copy your updated bankfile to the dropbox folder.

Make sure the bankfile with the highest score is the one that is most recently updated, or this script will fail.
Backup your bankfile to a safe place, incase something goes wrong :)

Menautor
May 9th, 2012, 04:06 AM
very interesting suggestions guys. Thanks a lot ! I'll give them both a try to see what happens and report back

Admiral
May 9th, 2012, 07:14 AM
Backup your bankfile to a safe place, incase something goes wrong :)

He could always add a line that automatically does a second copy step to a location on the current machine

1 - 3
1 - 2

2 - 4
2 - 1

That way two copies exist that never overwritten by the other machine which should for the most part eliminate that potential problem.

Duzero
May 9th, 2012, 07:55 AM
He could always add a line that automatically does a second copy step to a location on the current machine

1 - 3
1 - 2

2 - 4
2 - 1

That way two copies exist that never overwritten by the other machine which should for the most part eliminate that potential problem.

Yup.

Duzero
May 23rd, 2012, 02:02 AM
I guess our batch files crashed his computer :O