PDA

View Full Version : Who was the most evil person?

Helz
October 28th, 2021, 07:12 AM
Something I have been digging into for quite a few years is the nature of evil but it did lead me to a question. Who is the most evil person in history and more importantly why?

I am sure Hitler, Stalin, Columbus, Mao Zedong and Gangis Khan can easily be argued but I am specifically curious to hear 'why' and I think it could make for an interesting discussion into the nature of evil.

Marshmallow Marshall
October 28th, 2021, 02:41 PM
I'm afraid we have to answer the question "what is evil" first to answer this one... but that's what you want to know in the first place lol. If we rule out religious dogmas, evil would be... the act of intentionally causing harm of any kind to other human beings, or to cause harm in a way that is not intentional but that can be reasonably expected to be detected as harmful? I'm pretty sure you can light this definition on fire, but anyway.

OzyWho
October 28th, 2021, 04:09 PM
My take..
Humans are social creatures. That means relying on cooperation to survive and thrive. Our subconscious minds might be constantly on the lookout for groups to fit, as well as judge every individual on their value with regards to being in a group with them.

I think "evil" is just a human way of expressing someone who feels repulsive with regards the aforementioned value. Someone who has a waaaaaaay negative value.

Does this make any sense?

Light_Yagami
October 28th, 2021, 06:17 PM
Something I have been digging into for quite a few years is the nature of evil but it did lead me to a question. Who is the most evil person in history and more importantly why?

I am sure Hitler, Stalin, Columbus, Mao Zedong and Gangis Khan can easily be argued but I am specifically curious to hear 'why' and I think it could make for an interesting discussion into the nature of evil.